PGATOUR.COM – Five players nominated for TOUR’s Player of Year award

PONTE VEDRA BEACH, Fla. — The PGA TOUR released its nominees Tuesday for the 2010 PGA TOUR Player of the Year. Nominees for the Jack Nicklaus Trophy as the PGA TOUR Player of the Year are Ernie Els, Jim Furyk, Dustin Johnson, Matt Kuchar and Phil Mickelson.

Players were nominated by the PGA TOUR Player Advisory Council (PAC) and Player Directors. The awards are determined by a member vote, with PGA TOUR members who played in at least 15 official money events in 2010 eligible to vote.

The winner will be announced on Saturday, Dec. 4.

None of the five nominees has ever been named as the TOUR’s Player of the Year. Tiger Woods has won the award 10 times since 1997. The only other players to win during that span were Mark O’Meara in 1998, Vijay Singh in 2004 and Padraig Harrington in 2008.

Here is a closer look at the five nominees:

I vote for…